The NSW Tertiary Student Rugby League is an affiliated body of the New South Wales Rugby League, established to promote the development of Rugby League within Universities, TAFE and other Tertiary Institutes within the state of NSW.

Formed in late 1969, the NSW Tertiary Student Rugby League came about when the Sydney University , Macquarie University and University of NSW Rugby League clubs joined to create their own competition that was not restricted by the same boundaries as other senior open age competitions within Sydney.

Whilst teams may contain players that are not students, the number must be kept to a limit determined by the NSWTSRL Constitiution. Currently clubs fielding two teams are required to have a student player content of at least 55% over their two teams, with a minimum 7 student players in its 1st Division team. If a club only fields one team, they must have at least 55% student content in that team regardless of the division in which that team competes.